Academics at Shrine Catholic Grade School

Mission Statement:  At Shrine Catholic Grade School we try to exemplify Christ by praying, learning, and growing together.

Our academic program at Shrine is a strong one as evidenced by our consistently high IOWA scores. In October, our 2nd-6th graders took the IOWA tests and once again our Shrine students demonstrated the wealth of knowledge they have gained here at our school. Our composite scores (ELA, Math, Science, Social Studies) for 3rd-6th grades are very strong.  Core scores for 2nd grade are equally impressive.

2nd grade Core 71st percentile
3rd grade Composite 86th percentile
4th grade Composite 82nd percentile
5th grade Composite 81st percentile
6th grade Composite 83rd percentile

Who takes the IOWA tests? All schools in the Archdiocese of Detroit take this test. Students across the nation, most from private schools, will also take the test. Our scores are normed against these other students, who are in rigorous academic programs, like ours.

Are a percentage and percentile the same? The answer is “No.” A percentage indicates the proportion of questions answered correctly. Our daily work (homework, quizzes, tests, papers, etc.) are graded on a percentage basis. The IOWA scores are reported in percentiles, which indicate where on a scale from 1-100 our students rank compared with the other students who took the test. So, our 3rd graders are in the 86th percentile or better, for their grade level, as compared to the national standard. This means our third graders scored better than 86 percent of other 3rd graders who took the same test and are in the TOP 14th % in the nation! That is AWESOME!

The Shrine Catholic Grade School curriculum includes the following standards:

  • Michigan Grade Level Content Expectations (GLECs)
  • Next Generation Science Standards
  • Archdiocese of Detroit religion, math and English Language Arts (ELA) standards
  • Common Core Standards for Math and Language Arts and Literacy in the content areas
  • Shrine Catholic Grade School standards created by teacher curriculum committees

Please click on the links below to see a glimpse of what each grade level covers during a school year.


1st Grade

2nd Grade

3rd Grade

4th Grade

5th Grade

6th Grade